top of page

2016 Winter District Reports


Dean Johnson, West Central District --  The West Central District met on December 8 in Eau Claire.  The main topics of discussion were the property bill of rights proposed by Senators Tiffany and Jarchow, a  Shoreland update by Kay Lutze and a discussion on jurisdictions of NR340 and NR 135 permits dealing with Non Metallic Mines. We held elections as part of this meeting also.  The 2017 officers of the West Central district are … President/District Rep.: Brian Duell, Clark County & Secretary/Treasurer: Tony Roder, Chippewa County.


Our next meeting will be March 9, 2017 in Pepin County with discussions of floodplain topics.


Andrew Baker, Southeast District --  Jacob Heermans has been hired as a Land Use Specialist with Waukesha County. He has an architecture and planning background and will be completing his Master Degree in Urban Planning this year. 


CeCe Tesky, Northwest District -- The Northwest District met on December 7 at the Pickled Gill in Ladysmith. Ed Taylor, DSPS Wastewater Specialist, provided the group with information about upcoming continuing education classes and newly approved passive treatment units. There was discussion about the upcoming POWTS meeting of the WCCA Sanitation Committee. Areas of concern were dicussed. Kay Lutze was available and provided detail about who will be assisting us with public hearings, variances and ordinance questions now that Mike Wenholz has moved on. There was also discussion about resurrecting a combined NE/NW District Winter meeting with the WI DNR. 


Jeremy Johnson, Northeast District --  NEWCCA had its first meeting of the season December 9th in Crandon at a very nice, newer facility managed by the Crandon Area Rescue Squad.  All counties were represented at the meeting, including Matt Bremer, Mike Huth, and Laura Boquist from Lincoln County.  Kay Lutze and Dale Rezabek from DNR and Lynn Markham from UWEX presented on shoreland zoning and we had many good discussions on interpretation and application of all the new codes.


Jeremy Johnson (Menominee) was elected to another term as President, Dave Sadenwasser (Vilas) was elected again as Vice-President, and Pat Virtues (Oconto) will continue as the Treasurer.  Meetings will be held in January and February in Crandon, with our final meeting of the season being in March at Kelly Lake (Oconto County), in conjunction with the East Central CCA.


Adam Wiegel, Southwest District --The Southwest district will meet December 15 in Monroe.  The meeting was originally Scheduled for December 8, but had to be rescheduled due to the presidential recount.  Agenda items include, WI Fund, Cell Towers and a heated race for District Rep. 


Jeff Brewbaker, Central District -- On January 13, 2017, the Central District will be having a meeting at the Wood County Courthouse in Wisconsin Rapids.  We will have a general business meeting at 9:00 AM followed by a training session on conflict resolution and dealing with difficult customers.  The training will be completed by the Wood County Employee Assistance Program and should conclude at Noon.


Brian Giebel, East Central District -- The East Central district will meet on December 16th with Kay Lutze and Dale Rezabek of the DNR to discuss NR115 Problems and Issues.

bottom of page